Posted in Reflectionary

Questionings

I got this from Greg Fallis, whose post you can check out right here. Feel free to check out the rest of his blog, he’s both hilarious and insightful! I just figured I’d go along with his post and also answer the following questions (These are what John Lipton from Inside the Actor’s Studio asks his interviewees).  I mean, why not?

So here goes: 

What is your favorite word?

This one is hard, as there are a handful of words I have some kind of affinity to because of the initial weirdness. Off the top of my head: Onomatopoeia, oxymoron, and spatula. (This list could totally change tomorrow). I’d include Arabic words too but I have more of an affinity for phrases than specific words.

What is your least favorite word?

Slice. I don’t know why.

What turns you on?

Intelligence, dry humor, and the ability to see things from an intersectional point of view.

What turns you off?

I’m going to steal this straight from Greg Fallis, because honestly, I couldn’t say it better:

“Willfully stupid people. You know, folks who are capable of learning and understanding, but either can’t be bothered to learn or refuse to learn because it would make them doubt something they believed. Willfully stupid people can fuck right off.”

What sound or noise do you love?

Hysterical laughter. Granted that can be a very quiet sound, but I love it when people lose it. I like hearing people having fun. Second is whatever song is on my playlist, and third would be the doorbell letting me know my food is here.

What sound or noise do you hate?

Literally? Loudness I can’t control. Most kinds of loudness. Pounding music, jackhammers, people who do not have indoor voices…if it’s consistently loud, I will get extremely antsy and will probably either leave or retreat into myself. (Do not try to talk to me).

Edited to add: I can’t believe I didn’t include this before. Sound I abhor: Loud chewing. Loud chewing will turn me into a crazy-eyed murderer. Unless your excuse is that you were literally raised by cows, (and if so, just don’t eat near me), please shut your mouth when you chew.

What is your favorite curse word? 

The one I use the most would be “shit”. A word I don’t use but think is kind of awesome is “pissant”.

What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Perhaps work in an NGO or an activist organization.

What profession would you not like to do?

Sales, or police work, or medicine, or anything to do with crunching numbers.

If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates? 

Hey, sorry the state of the world was kind of…uncool. We’re working on it.

Speak?

